Patchwork

An open investigation into Watou 3.0

The Watou Arts Festival will celebrate its 40th edition in the summer of 2021. An excellent moment to think about the future. We explore, together with artist Koen Vanmechelen, how Watou, as a village and as a community, can connect with the artists and vice versa.

Curator Koen Vanmechelen:

“Join many stories together, and you get one large, powerful narrative. The Patchwork initiative invites artists, both young and older artists and from all disciplines, to come together to reflect on the next edition of Watou, and what it could look like. Let’s each bring a tent and sleeping bag. And let’s inspire each other. This multi-day gathering could herald in a new concept for Watou, translated into one or more artworks in situ, to be presented to the general public at next year’s edition of Watou. A patchwork of impressions, an unpredictable composite drawn from a variety of elements.

Patchwork implies that the participants will kickstart the creative process by communicating amongst artists and art forms. But Watou itself – the village and its inhabitants – will also serve as a lightning rod for inspiration. The village can learn things from the world, but the opposite is also true. After all, the global only exists by the generosity of the local. The question is: whether and how inspiration from these rural crossroads can be injected into a cosmopolitan world.

Patchwork is an open invitation, a research project, a laboratory. This is a new age. What should Watou’s role in the future be? And what, specifically, does this mean? In words, images and sounds. Can we transform the concept of Watou? Now is the time to think about this, to work on it. The result will be Watou 2022, an edition supported by both artists and villagers, who will form one single community, a whole summer long.”

This website uses cookies. By accepting, you agree with our privacy policy.

Patchwork

Une étude ouverte sur Watou 3.0

À l’été 2021, le Festival des Arts de Watou fête sa quarantième édition. Le moment parfait pour réfléchir à l’avenir. Avec l’artiste Koen Vanmechelen, nous explorons comment nous pouvons connecter Watou en tant que village et en tant que communauté avec les artistes et vice versa.

Le curateur Koen Vanmechelen:

“Beaucoup de narratifs réunis forment un narratif important et puissant. L’initiative Patchwork invite les artistes jeunes et moins jeunes issus de toutes les disciplines à réfléchir ensemble à ce à quoi pourraient ressembler les prochaines éditions de Watou. Avec tente et sac de couchage. Et pour s’inspirer mutuellement. Le résultat de cette collecte d’informations étalée sur plusieurs jours peut déboucher sur un nouveau concept pour Watou, se traduisant en une ou plusieurs œuvres d’art in situ, qui seraient montrées au grand public de Watou l’année suivante. Un patchwork d’impressions, un ensemble imprévisible de différents éléments.

Patchwork signifie que la communication mutuelle peut démarrer le processus créatif des participants. Watou-même aussi, le village, ses habitants, vont raviver leur inspiration. Ce n’est pas uniquement le monde qui a beaucoup de choses à apprendre au village, l’inverse est tout aussi vrai. Le mondial existe en effet uniquement grâce à la générosité du local. La question qui se pose, c’est comment l’inspiration de ce carrefour rural peut être implantée dans un monde cosmopolite.

Patchwork est une invitation ouverte, un projet de recherche, un laboratoire. Ce sont de nouveaux temps. Quel rôle Watou peut-il jouer à l’avenir? Et qu’est-ce que cela signifie concrètement? En mots, en sons et en images. Pouvons-nous changer le concept de Watou? Le moment est venu d’y réfléchir et de travailler sur ce thème. Le résultat sera Watou 2022, une édition portée par les artistes et les habitants, formant une seule communauté tout un été durant.”

Ce site web utilise des cookies. En cliquant sur «Accepter», vous acceptez notre politique de confidentialité.